Woraburi Sukhumvit Hotel

So the cab ride to the hotel was long and boring. I wanted to strike a conversation with the airport driver but I chickened out. Trying to talk to a fully tattooed Buddhist driver wasn’t something I wanted to do that night. In fact, I didn’t know what to do in Bangkok that night. He was quiet for the journey and all we could hear was the engine and a disk jockey from a Thai radio station. We made our way through shortcuts and hospitals and then, the red light district. My hotel was in the red light district area. I missed that from my online reading the past night.

The walk to my room — it smelled like people were taking showers

I booked f0r this hotel in Bangkok hastily while in Siem Reap. Sometimes you get the best deals, but there’s always room for surprises. Well the place didn’t look like the photographs online. But I was tired and I would say that the reception was quick to check me in.

What I liked about it was the space near the window

My room was at the end of the hallway. The first thing I noticed upon entering the room was the smell of cigarettes. Then the bugs on the minibar and walls. Then the untidy floor. The bed & bath looked clean. I opened the window and a pedestrian looked at me. (Wow hello there random middle eastern looking man) Then my door kinda tricked me for a while since it didn’t have a lock from the inside. It was the kind of doorknob that immediately locked itself from the outside just by closing the door. Bah. I just wanted to sleep already you crazy doorknob.

Finally got a new toothbrush. HELLYEAH

It cost around 70USD to stay for two nights, with a buffet breakfast. There’s a swimming pool, a free tuktuk service to the end of the Soi, an internet shop (prepaid internet so buy cards from the reception), tour packages, a weighing scale at the lobby, and the massage parlor. You’re in Thailand, there are massage parlors (or spas/ whatever you call them) everywhere. Oh yeah, another thing to mention about this hotel was the red light district crowd—  Not that I’m against anyone, but just be aware because you’ll never know who you’ll run into.

After a hearty breakfast (if you want to save money you should eat loads for breakfast to stretch until lunch hahaha), I checked out and took the train to find a more peaceful hotel somewhere in the west of Bangkok.

Woraburi Sukhumvit Hotel
http://www.woraburi.com/woraburisukhumvit/
128/1 Sukhumvit Soi 4, Klongtoey, Bangkok, Thailand

Leave a Reply

