Bangkok City

On the 30th of July, I woke up to the scent of cigarettes on my bed. Somewhere in my mind I told myself, “wake up, you must be in The Hangover 3 and there’s probably Bradley Cooper somewhere here with a crossbred rooster-monkey. Smile for the camera!” But no, as reality had dictated, I took a shower and readied my bags for the next hotel I would be staying in. I hitched an elevator ride to the fifth floor to take a peek at the swimming pool before gobbling down a breakfast buffet in the first floor. Since the hotel was smaller than what the online photographs seemed to appear, the restaurant was jam-packed like a night club, only with orange juice, not alcohol in glasses. I found it rather amusing to watch people come and go, while taking note of their different shapes and voices. Bangkok really is a melting pot, a hub where east definitely meets west.

I checked out early and hopped on the free electric tuktuk service with a couple of backpackers. I had to drag my bag through beauty parlors and street stalls before entering Nana station. The passenger assistance officer told me that I only have 74 Baht left in the Skytrain pass (lent to me by my brother). I rode the train to Siam station, crossed the Silom line, and arrived in Chong Nonsi. I checked in the I Residence, took a nap until 1600, and went back to Siam.

It is the retail center of Bangkok. We went to Siam Paragon back in 2008 and the only thing I wanted to see again was the huge assortment of novelty shops. I ended up getting some notebooks from The Loft, Siam Discovery Center. Then I passed by Madam Tussaud’s, an ice skating rink, and Channel V Thailand.

And I even bothered to capture a photo of the wall

Ice rink’s exterior

I spent a few minutes checking out new Link watches before purchasing milk tea from Fuku. Then I passed by Siam Ocean World, which is an aquarium that occupied the whole basement of Siam Paragon. Eventually, I took a breather at Burger King before heading on to oggle over the Lamborghini Aventador over at the Paragon’s upper floors. I visited the 4D movie theaters and caught a glimpse of a guy dressed as Captain America posing for pictures.

Yayyyy

Back in 2008, we went to Platinum mall, the place to find cheap yet quality clothes, shoes, bags, etc. After sensing that I had no current memory of  getting to Platinum, I asked a lot of people for directions. I gathered more maps and found myself passing by Wat Pathum Wanaram.

Some stores were already closing when I managed to reach Platinum, but I still found time to buy items which my sister would want. On the way back to Siam station, I passed by some food street stalls and a bridge where I bought a hat for 99 Baht. Going back to the hotel was easier, and I spent the night talking to family via Facetime.

Roadside grill

The view on the way back to I Residence

Leave a Reply

